2012 –

2012: The thirteenth UEFA European Championship’s kick’s off in 2012 with holders Spain hoping to retain their trophy which is to be contested for the first time in Poland and the Ukraine. England, who failed to qualify for the 2008 competition will be hopeful of challenging for a title which still evades them. Past Winners are: USSR, Spain (twice), Italy, West Germany (three times (once as Germany), Czechoslovakia, France (twice), the Netherlands, Denmark and Greece.

2014: The 2014 World Cup will be held in Brazil, the first time the country has hosted the event since 1950, despite winning it a record five times since. The final is likely to be staged at the Maracana which will be the second stadium to host two World Cup finals since the Azteca in Mexico hosted both the 1970 and 1986 showpiece.

2016: Bidding has started to host the 2016 European Championships with Italy, France, Turkey and a joint bid from Norway and Sweden all hoping to persuade the UEFA committee in staging the fifteenth tournament.

2018: Russia are awarded the 2018 FIFA World Cup after fending off joint bids from Holland & Belgium, Spain & Portugal and England who feel robbed after allegations of corruption mar the bidding process. It’s the first ever time the event will be staged in Eastern Europe.

2022: Qatar are the suprise hosts for the 2022 FIFA World Cup after winning the 2010 bid held in Geneva seeing off competition from, Australia, Japan & the USA.